top of page
Search

Creativity: What it is and What it isn't.

I believe creativity is a characteristic like any other. It may be inherent, it may be taught, it may be learned, and it must always be exercised in order to be strengthened and nurtured. It is the ability to look beyond what is easily seen and to imagine what could be. So much of it lies in process and intent rather than a finished product.


I believe that I am a creative person. I consider my creativity as a gift from my parents who have constantly encouraged my growth in that area through examples as well as intentional activities. My parents are both makers. They like to work with their hands and explore a broad variety different crafts and skills. My mom works with textiles, sewing, paper, cards, and much more. My dad is a wood worker and gardener amongst other things. I think they find ways to enrich their lives and the lives of those around them through their physical craft and emotional creativity.


I think that creativity is essential into today's society. It not only helps shape and inform the world around us, but it gives one hope for making things, everything, better. Creativity acts as a propeller for innovation and progressive change. The world we live in is increasingly technological. This has opened up new channels and new methods of making as well as new ways for individuals to express their creativity. It also allows such making to be widely accessible and relevant. Community and support for individuals is now the norm through digital platforms. One of my favorite resources for community, inspiration, tutorials, etc. is instagram. There are a number of really great accounts that provide many different forms of great support! Below is an account that keeps me encouraged and inspired through design prompts, artist features, and other cool services.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Theme for the Video Project

I'm really fine with going in any group. But I do think I'm interested in making a lighthearted video. There's so much negativity in media and life in general right now, so I'd like to contribute some

bottom of page