top of page
Search

Group 1 Presentation: Huang on Bamberger

Here is my personal response to the reading from Huang on Bamberger - Understanding Digital-Synthesized Photographs Through Theories of Knowledge: A Case Study of Tom Bamberger's Cultured Landscapes.


Although I don’t necessarily agree with Bamberger’s starkly pragmatic worldview and decision to turn from self-expression to only problem solving, I can appreciate that he views photography as a medium to improve the world around him. I also disagree that beauty is the only true way to art. Negatively associated emotions such as pain and sadness have influenced a number of notable and impactful artworks. Such poignant emotions may be used as a tool to affect change in more powerful ways than beauty. Take for example the artist Ai Wei Wei, he uses difficult topics related to censure, anger, loss, etc to expose deep rooted issues within society to spark real progress. As a broad strokes view to the overall case study however, I completely agree that it’s essential to investigate an artist’s worldview to more deeply understand their intended messages. Their perspective on life and art not only shapes the physical or digital form of work, but just as importantly it determines the content and context of said work.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Theme for the Video Project

I'm really fine with going in any group. But I do think I'm interested in making a lighthearted video. There's so much negativity in media and life in general right now, so I'd like to contribute some

bottom of page